Six Pa. Counties Included in Disaster Designation for Spring Frost

Six Pennsylvania counties—McKean, Potter, Susquehanna, Tioga, Warren, and Wayne—have been included in a federal disaster designation related to freeze and frost that damaged crops last spring.

Farmers in those counties will be eligible to apply for assistance from the U.S. Department of Agriculture’s Farm Service Agency, including emergency loans, to help with losses. In McKean, Susquehanna, Warren and Wayne counties, the designation covers freeze and frost that occurred between April 1 and June 1, 2020. In Potter and Tioga counties, the designation covers freeze that occurred between April 15 and June 1, 2020.

The deadline to apply for emergency loans under this designation is Sept. 15, 2021.

While the disaster designation primarily covers counties in New York, contiguous counties in Pennsylvania are also eligible.

For more information about assistance, contact your FSA county office or click here.