Ebert, PFB Members Recognized for Service to Dairy Industry

Pennsylvania Farm Bureau President Rick Ebert is being recognized for his contributions to Pennsylvania’s dairy industry.

Ebert, a Westmoreland County dairy farmer, was one of two recipients of the Pennsylvania Dairy Service Award, presented by the Professional Dairy Managers of Pennsylvania, Center for Dairy Excellence, and Pennsylvania Dairymen’s Association. He was selected for his role advocating for dairy producers across the state as PFB president and for his leadership within the state’s dairy sector.

Ebert was one of several Farm Bureau members recognized as part of the 2021 Pennsylvania Dairy Industry Awards. The four awards was one of four presented at the Pennsylvania Dairy Summit, held virtually Feb. 8 through 11.

Ebert has served as PFB president since 2014 and has been active at all levels of Farm Bureau. In addition to serving as PFB president, he chairs the Pennsylvania Friends of Agriculture Foundation board and serves on the boards of the American Farm Bureau Federation and American Farm Bureau Foundation for Agriculture.

In addition to Ebert, two other Farm Bureau member families were recognized:

  • Allen and Mike Behrer of Willow Behrer Farms in Huntingdon County received the Pennsylvania Dairy Innovator Award for their creative approach to training employees on animal handling and farm-management practices and their unique partnership with a neighboring dairy farm to maximize efficiencies.
  • Earl, Jim and Nelson Breneman of Franklin View Farms in Lancaster County received the Pennsylvania Distinguished Dairy Producer Award for their proactive approach to finding opportunities to contract milk and feed ingredients as well as manage health, production, and reproduction.

In addition, Ken Raney, executive director for the Pennsylvania Holstein Association received the other Pennsylvania Dairy Service Award for his involvement with many dairy and agriculture efforts and organizations.